Prabha Unnithan has been elected 2019-2020 president of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. Unnithan was inducted at the ACJS 56th Annual Meeting held in Baltimore in late March.

Unnithan received an impressive gavel as he took office, and a surprise email a few days later. “Dear President Unnithan: I write as one President to another! Congratulations on becoming the President of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. My colleague at WVU, Greg Dunaway, Dean of the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences, just returned from the ACJS Annual Meeting and told me of your presidency. I look forward to meeting you and congratulating you in person,” wrote Joyce McConnell. She had been named CSU’s incoming president on March 29, the same day Unnithan took office.

Unnithan has been a faculty member at CSU since 1987. His research and teaching involve a range of topics related to criminology and criminal justice. He served as President of the Western Social Science Association in 2014-2015. He was ACJS Secretary 2013- 2016 and First Vice-President last year.

ACJS is comprised of an amalgam of scholars (international in scope and multidisciplinary in orientation), professionals (from all segments of the justice system), and students. ACJS has approximately 2,800 members, representing every state in the United States, many countries, and virtually every institution of higher learning with a criminal justice/criminology program.