Jessie Luna named CSU Provost Teaching Scholar

Dr. Jessie Luna received this year’s Faculty Excellence Teaching Scholar Award from CSU’s Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President. This award recognizes especially notable teaching and learning impact by an early-career professor represented by innovative teaching, course design, curriculum, or other accomplishment that enhances student success. Luna was honored during the Celebrate! Colorado State […]

Pete Taylor honored for outstanding service as Chair

Sociology’s Executive Committee hosted Dr. Taylor’s Chair Appreciation gathering May 3 at Morgan Library. Laura Raynolds presented Pete Taylor with a speaking trumpet commemorating his strong leadership during the pandemic (and his former volunteer service leading his local community’s fire crew) and a peace lily recognizing his dedication to the department’s growth throughout his tenure. Bridget Julian was applauded for standing in […]

Prabha Unnithan honored at retirement gathering

Prabha Unnithan’s retirement gathering was held April 26 at CSU’s Durrell Center. Current faculty, staff and graduate students were joined by emeritus professors and former graduate students in honoring Dr. Prabha Unnithan and Dr. Shashi Unnithan, his wife. Prabha grew up in Malaysia after his parents migrated there from India. After completing high school in […]

Michael Carolan wins international Business Impact Award for A Decent Meal

Michael Carolan received the Frankfurt Book Fair’s getAbstract 2022 International Book Award for Business Impact. Carolan was flown to Germany in October and honored during a formal ceremony. Carolan’s newest book, A Decent Meal: Building Empathy in a Divided America, was selected from 10,000 non-fiction titles. The jury chose it “for its timely relevance that […]

Prabha Unnithan honored by the Academy of Criminal Justice Science

The Academy of Criminal Justice Science (ACJS) presented Dr. Prabha Unnithan with the prestigious Gerhard O.W. Mueller Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Criminal Justice at the International Section’s Annual Awards Luncheon during the 2022 ACJS Annual Meeting held in Las Vegas in late March. This annual award is given to an individual who has made an […]

Tara Opsal selected as Career Impact Award recipient by CSU’s Career Center

Dr. Tara Opsal has been selected as a 2022 Career Impact Award recipient by CSU’s Career Center. This award recognizes students, staff, faculty, employers, and alumni who are champions for student career development, equity and inclusion, and student success. “Tara leads by example as she incorporates DEI into her innovative and collaborative approaches to student success. […]

KuoRay Mao receives sabbatical funding from the Chiang Ching-Kuo Foundation

Dr. KuoRay Mao is the recipient of an American Region Scholar Grant from the Chiang Ching-Kuo Foundation, the most prominent and prestigious grant-giving foundation among scholars who study social issues in the greater China region. KuoRay’s sabbatical research project, “Environmental Social Control & Regulatory Pluralism: A Green Criminology Approach to the Generation and Transference of […]

RSS honors Michael Carolan with “Rural Sociology Best Paper Award”

Dr. Michael Carolan received the 2020 Rural Sociology Best Paper Award for his paper “The Rural Problem: Justice in the Countryside.” His paper and $1,000 award were mentioned at the Rural Sociological Society’s (RSS) Virtual Awards Ceremony on August 1, 2021. His paper was published by Rural Sociology on May 19, 2019. His research was […]

Dr. Berry transitions to Emeritus Professor after 50 years of service at CSU

Please join the Department of Sociology in thanking Dr. Ken Berry and wishing him well as he enters a new stage of his long and productive career. Beginning May 15, Emeritus Professor Berry will pursue opportunities beyond CSU. His next statistics book will be released July 28, and he and co-author Dr. Janis Johnston (’06) […]