Joyce McConnell, President of CSU, and Shannon Archibeque-Engle, Assistant Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and Assessment in the Vice President for Diversity office, recognized Tara Opsal and Elena Windsong at the 2020 Faculty Institute for Inclusive Excellence Awards Ceremony.

Joyce wrote about the institute in her weekly email message to the campus community:

“Last week, I was honored to spend the evening recognizing members of the 2019-2020 cohort of the CSU Faculty Institute for Inclusive Excellence. This intensive program aims to increase ‘inclusive excellence within departmental culture, classroom climate, curricular redesign, and pedagogical implementation’ by integrating diversity, equity and inclusion. It demands a great deal of participants, in terms of both time and the commitment that they must make to grapple with how their teaching practices might need to change. I was so proud to celebrate with this year’s ‘class.’ The 2020-2021 cohort is already underway, but I urge all our faculty to consider applying to the 2021-2022 cohort.  You can indicate your interest in the program here.”

Read more here about how the institute began in 2016.